Basically the title, I know some will probably frown at the fact that this account is only about 6 months old and that my first message with it was only today, but I have been lurking on these forms since 2019 or so, and while I know that’s also a short amount of time, I think I have what is needed to write a timeline, I am a writer at heart and do love history.

But enough about me, the idea of a French-Scottish union through the marriage and survival of Queen Mary I Stuart of Scotland and King Francis II Valois-Angoulême of France and the consequences on France, the British Isles, Ireland and the wider world have always intrigued me. I want to write it in a first person perspective from various characters from history with perhaps some imagined characters for flavour.

However, I know I do not have the knowledge that others who are much my elder have. So I would love your thoughts and advice, and if you could answer any questions I may have, and do please forgive me if I am ignorant about something, I am very excited about trying this and may lose myself.

But some basic things I have in mind for the timeline:

Would begin on the 24th April 1558, the day of the wedding between Mary and Francis.

The eventual defeat or settlement of the Protestant Lords of the Congregation due to increased French presence in Scotland before the Tumult of Amboise that would lead to more Catholic Scotland (perhaps through more instability in England after the ascent of Elizabeth meaning less English supports to the Congregation and something the French wanted to take advantage by preparing an invasion of England through Scotland that was then waylaid when instability hits France).